Mumbai Indians Squad Analysis for IPL 2024

Mumbai Indians Squad Analysis for IPL 2024

The Mumbai Indians are among the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League. They started their IPL campaign in 2008 with cricket sensation Sachin Tendulkar as the icon player. A total of 8 captains have led the Mumbai Indians in 16 editions of the IPL. Of all these 16 captains, Rohit Sharma is the most prominent name to have led the Mumbai Indians, winning 5 IPL titles.

For this season, Hardik Pandya has become the Captain of Mumbai Indians. So, let's start our Mumbai Indians squad analysis and the expectations for the new Indian Premier League season.

Editorial rating (4.5/5)
Welcome Offer: 150% up to ₹20,000
Why PariMatch: Live Odds & Exclusive Offers

Team Details

  • Name: Mumbai Indians
  • City: Mumbai
  • Owners: Indiawin Sports, Mukesh Ambani
  • Home Ground: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  • Coach: Mark Boucher
  • Captain: Hardik Pandya
  • Championship Victories: 5

TV and Live Stream for Mumbai Indians will give you the best possible streaming channels of the Indian Premier League, where you can watch Mumbai Indians matches live. Star Sports Network will stream IPL 2024 on TV. Jio Cinema will stream it live on Apps and its official website. You will find complete guidance on the website to watch Mumbai Indian's matches live.

Mumbai Indians History

Mumbai Indians did not qualify for the playoffs in IPL 2008. In 2010, Mumbai Indians played its first-ever IPL final. Unfortunately, they lost the match against Chennai Super Kings. In 2013, Rohit Sharma became the Captain of MI, and the same year, the Mumbai Indians won the IPL title. Rohit Sharma made Mumbai Indians the most successful team in IPL after winning their 5th title in 2020. The Mumbai Indians won the IPL in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020, though they haven't played in an IPL final since 2020.

Mumbai Indians Squad

Rohit Sharma, Tim David, Ishan Kishan, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera, Suryakumar Yadav, Dewald Brevis, Piyush Chawla, Shreyas Gopal, Anshul Kamboj, Mohammad Nabi, Shams Mulan, Hardik Pandya, Romario Shepherd, Tilak Varma, Jason Behrendorff, Jasprit Bumrah, Gerald Coetzee, Kumar Kartikeya, Akash Madhwal, Dilshan Madushanka, Arjun Tendulkar, Nuwan Thushara, Naman Dhir, Shivalik Sharma


Rohit Sharma, Tim David, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera


Hardik Pandya (c), Tilak Varma, Mohammad Nabi, Dewald Brevis, Romario Shepherd, Shams Mulani, Anshul Kamboj


Jasprit Bumrah, Jason Behrendroff, Gerald Coetzee, Akash Madhwal, Dilshan Madushanka, Arjun Tendulkar, Nuwan Thushara, Kumar Kartikeya

Performance of MI in IPL 2023

Mumbai Indians won 8 out of 14 matches last season and finished the group stage in 4th position. Mumbai Indians won its last group stage game against Sunrises Hyderabad by eight wickets. In playoffs, Mumbai Indians won Eliminator 1 against Lucknow Super Giants but lost Eliminator 2 against Gujarat Titans.

Mumbai Indians Players' Performance Analysis

Mumbai Indians have lots of permanent members of the Indian team. Captain of the Indian team Rohit Sharma, has been the key component of Mumbai Indians in IPL for the last ten years. Rohit Sharma is the highest run scorer for Mumbai Indians in the IPL. He scored 6211 runs for Mumbai Indians in the IPL but did not enjoy good form last year, as he scored 332 runs in IPL 2023 at an average of 20.75.

The New Captain, Hardik Pandya, has returned to the Mumbai Indians after a two-year absence. Hardik Pandya led Gujarat Titans in IPL for two years, winning the title of IPL 2022 and losing the finals of IPL 2023. Mumbai Indians traded Hardik Pandya and made him the Captain for the new season. He scored 2309 runs and took 53 wickets in IPL. Hardik Pandya is one of the most brilliant all-rounders in the world right now. He is currently the leader of Mumbai Indian, which means Hardik Pandya's responsibilities will increase significantly.

Suryakumar Yadav is an excellent middle-order player for the Mumbai Indians. In 2018, Surya Kumar Yadav returned to the Indians after being released in 2012. Suryakumar Yadav has scored 3249 runs in IPL. Yadav was Mumbai's highest run scorer in IPL 2023. He scored 605 runs at an average of 43.21. Ishan Kishan was the 2nd best batsman for Mumbai in IPL 2023. Kishan scored 454 runs at a decent average of 31. Tim David and Tilak Varma are the other two notable batters in the playing 11 for Mumbai Indians.

Frontline fast bowler of the Indian cricket team, Jasprit Bumrah, has played his whole IPL career for Mumbai Indians. Jasprit Bumrah is the backbone of the Mumbai Indians' bowling attack. He took 145 wickets for Mumbai Indians in the IPL. Veteran Piyush Chawla was the highest wicket-taker of Mumbai in IPL 2023 with 22 wickets. Mumbai bought Gerald Coetzee and Dilshan Madhushanka for IPL 2024. Both youngsters bowled with good passion in the ICC World Cup 2023. So, they will provide some good results in IPL 2024.

Key Players for Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma showed his class in the last match of the recent series of India. He scored 100 in that match. Captain of Mumbai Indians, Hardik Pandya, will also be crucial in middle overs with his all-round abilities. Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, and Ishan Kishan will be front runners for the team's best batsmen. Tim David and Nehal Wadhera will be crucial in the lower order. In bowling, Jasprit Bumrah must take wickets in powerplay to put pressure on the opposition. Newcomers Coetzee and Madhushanka will surely bring their A-game to IPL 2024. Piyush Chawla and Mohammad Nabi will hold the spin department.

Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024

Mumbai Indians have extraordinary players in their squad for IPL 2024. In the last couple of seasons, the performance of Mumbai Indians has been average, which is why Mumbai Indians have not played the final of the IPL since 2020. Mumbai Indians have the perfect mixture of young and experienced players for IPL 2024.


From 2013 to 2020, Mumbai Indians won 5 IPL titles. Rohit Sharma was a great captain for Mumbai Indians, which helped Mumbai get their first IPL title. Mumbai Indians constantly invest in youngsters and make them stars. The most prominent examples are Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, and the current Captain, Hardik Pandya. These players become permanent members of the Indian cricket team after playing for Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians also picked excellent youngsters this year, which gives us the idea that Mumbai Indians have a high chance of lifting the IPL 2024 Title. You can check live streaming options on to watch all the Mumbai Indians matches.

Author: Ramesh Singh