What Big Bash League Events are on TV?

Complete schedule for Big Bash League on TV and stream

Here we will provide you with up-to-date TV and streaming information for the Big Bash League. Check out the schedule below to find out how to watch upcoming live events on TV.

There are no upcoming events for Big Bash League, please visit tvsports.in for all scheduled events.

Sat, Jun 15, 2024

The Big Bash League is the top divisional Twenty20 cricket league in Australia which has been played since 2011. Here, some of the best cricket teams in Australia are fighting for the prestigious trophy every season. It’s one of the most attractive and popular sports leagues in the world and is followed by fans worldwide. If you’re looking for some top-level cricket, and would like to see the best players in action, use Tvsports.inand get information on when and where you can watch the next game from the Big Bash League, BBL, live on TV or stream!

This is the Big Bash League

The Big Bash League, or the BBL as it’s also called, was founded in 2011 which makes it to a league with a relatively short history. Its precursor, the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, had been running since 2005 but was replaced in an effort to modernize the domestic cricket league. The Big Bash League continued being sponsored by KFC, making them the one and only main sponsor since the league’s inception.
Together with the Indian Premier League, which is the biggest cricket league in India, the Big Bash League is the most popular cricket league in the world. Both the IPL and the BBL are among the sports leagues with the highest average attendance.
The BBL consist of eight teams as of the 2020 season, but discussions are ongoing to decide on the idea of expanding the league and potentially include a team from New Zeeland. So far, the proposed expansion teams haven’t lived up to the Big Bash League standards when it comes to cricket facilities but with a growing interest for the league, both from fans and investors, this should be an issue easy to overcome.
Even if the Twenty20 format is one of the most common formats of cricket there’re no continental tournaments that the BBL teams can qualify to. Back in 2014 it was decided to scrap the Champions League Twenty20 and since then no tournament has been created as a replacement.

Teams and league structure

Up until 2011 the Twenty20 top division in Australia had consisted of six teams but as the Big Bash League was founded the number of teams changed to eight. The teams come from six different cities, Melbourne and Sydney have two teams each. The format of the regular season has been varying somewhat throughout the years but as from the 2018/19 season all teams play each other twice, one time at home and one time away. The Big Bash League season is normally running from December until February.
When all games are played in the regular season the best teams advance to the final series. The final series are played in a knock-out format with the following structure:

The Eliminator – 4th placed team vs 5th placed team
The Qualifier – 1st placed team vs 2nd placed team
The Knock-Out – 3rd placed team vs Winner of The Eliminator
The Challenger – Loser of The Qualifier vs Winner of The Knock-Out
The Final – Winner of The Qualifier vs Winner of The Challenger

It’s no surprise that the derby games between the two Sydney teams and the two Melbourne teams are the biggest games of the season. The hype around these games is huge and these are the matchups that every year gets the highest attendance.

Big Bash League teams: Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder

The most successful team in the Big Bash League is the Perth Scorchers with three championship titles. All of the teams, as of the season 2020/21, except two have won the BBL trophy.

When and where to watch Big Bash League on TV & Stream

Being one of the leagues on the top 10 most attended sports leagues in the world, the Big Bash League is a massive industry. The Sydney- and Melbourne derbies attracts huge amount of people every season and in 2016 over 80 000 fans watched the game between the Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades. Perth Scorchers and Adelaide Strikers are two other teams with a large number of fans at their home games. The Scorchers were the first BBL team to sell out all of the home games in one season.

If you don’t have the possibility of watching the games live at the ground, you can follow it on TV or live stream. For all Indian viewers Sony Six and Sony Six HD will be broadcasting the 2020/21 season. If you ever miss a game, you’ll be able to watch highlights from all games on Sony ESPN.

By using Tvsports.in you’ll make sure that you never miss a cricket game from the Big Bash League. The match list shows you when and where you can watch today’s BBL games. The TV-schedule is free-to-use and will be available on your computer, phone and tablet. It doesn’t matter if you’re a big fan of the BBL or not, for everyone who loves cricket this is a service you’ll appreciate.

Twenty20 cricket

For those of you haven’t watched any Twenty20 cricket before here comes a short summary of the game format. Twenty20 is a shortened format of cricket which was created to be more attractive for the audience. A Twenty20 game is usually played in three hours and the teams have one innings each. The innings is restricted to 20 overs.
There’s a World Cup tournament for both men and women in Twenty20 cricket. The format is still relatively new compared to cricket itself but is growing bigger and more popular for every year thanks to the short and fast-paced form.