Afghanistan tour of India (11-14 Jan) - TV Schedule, Squad List & Analysis

Afghanistan tour of India (11 jan - 14 jan) - TV Schedule, Squad List & Analysis

The Afghanistan cricket team is set to tour India for a three-match T20I series from January 11 to January 17, 2024. This marks the first time Afghanistan is participating in a bilateral T20I series in India.

Afghanistan tour of India - Preview

The schedule for the T20I series is as follows:

All matches are scheduled to begin at 7:00 PM IST, with the toss taking place at 6:30 PM IST. The series will be broadcast live on the Sports18 Network and JioCinema in India.

In the head-to-head T20I stats between India and Afghanistan, they have played a total of 5 matches, with India winning 4 and Afghanistan yet to secure a victory. One match ended with no result​​.

Team Afghanistan - Full Squad:

Afghanistan's squad for this tour includes experienced players like former captains Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, and Gulbadin Naib. Ibrahim Zadran will lead the team. Notably, Rashid Khan, Afghanistan’s regular captain, is part of the squad but might not play due to a back injury. The squad also features a strong spin attack with Mujeeb Ur Rahman and a capable pace attack including Naveen-Ul-Haq and Fazalhaq Farooqi.

The full squad is as follows: Ibrahim Zadran (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ikram Alikhil (wk), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmaullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib, Fareed Ahmad, and Rashid Khan.

Team India - Full Squad:

India's squad for the series is led by Rohit Sharma. The team includes Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar.

This series promises to be an exciting contest, and you can make sure to not miss out on any of the 3 games by using

Major Cricket Tournament & Series in 2024

Looking ahead in 2024, there are several exciting international cricket series and tournaments on the horizon:

International Tours:

  • Ireland will play Pakistan in 2 T20Is in May.
  • England will host Pakistan for 4 T20Is in May, followed by 3 Tests against the West Indies in July.
  • Afghanistan will tour the United Arab Emirates to play 2 Tests, 3 ODIs, and 3 T20Is in July.
  • Sri Lanka will host India for 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is, also in July.
  • England will again be in action against Sri Lanka in 3 Tests in August, followed by a series against Australia comprising 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is in September.
  • India will play Bangladesh in 2 Tests and 3 T20Is in September​​.

International Tournaments:

  • The 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup will start on June 1, 2024.
  • Other notable tournaments include the 2024 Scotland Tri-Nation Series starting on May 2, the 2024 Namibia Tri-Nation Series beginning on September 18, and the 2024 Canada Tri-Nation Series and the 2024 United States Tri-Nation Series, both commencing in September and October, respectively​​.

Women's International Tours and Tournaments:

  • England will host Pakistan in 3 Women's Tests and 3 ODIs starting May 11.
  • Later in June, England will also host New Zealand for 3 Women's Tests and 5 ODIs.
  • The 2024 ICC Women's T20 World Cup is scheduled for September 2024​​.

Author: Ramesh Singh